Carnegie Art Award
22.3. - 14.5.2006






The Carnegie Art Award has been instituted to support skilled artists in the Nordic countries and to promote contemporary painting. As from the autumn of 2003, this event, which was inaugurated in the autumn of 1998, will take place biennially instead of every year as previously. The Carnegie Art Award consists of four parts: a touring exhibition of selected works, a documentation of the exhibition in the form of a book, a film portraying the participating artists and awards to four of the artists.

26 experts on Nordic contemporary painting each nominate up to five of the most prominent contemporary artists in or from the Nordic region for the Carnegie Art Award 2004. The nominators include representatives from art museums and art schools as well as critics and other specialists on contemporary art in the Nordic countries. Nominators are appointed for one year. Their identities are withheld until the book is published, in which nominators are acknowledged if they so wish.

The Carnegie Art Award is open to artists who are citizens of, or living in, a Nordic country. Artists who have participated in previous Carnegie Art Award exhibitions can be nominated again.

All nominated artists have each been invited to contribute up to five works of art to the Carnegie Art Award. The works should have been made during the last two years to reflect the current state of painting in the Nordic countries.

115 artists were nominated for the 2006 Carnegie Art Award. All nominations are handled strictly confidentially. Only the names of those artists selected by the jury for participation in the Carnegie Art Award 2006 exhibition will be published.

The jury held a meeting in April 2005 and, on the basis of submitted slides, videos, etc., selected the 21 artists represented in this year’s exhibition. The jury met again in June to compile the exhibition, this time with access to the original works. At this meeting, the jury also appointed this year’s winners of the awards and the scholarship, based on the works in the exhibition.

Karin Mamma Andersson (SE)
Astrid Nondal (NO)
Lise Blomberg Andersen (DK)
Jón Óskar (IS)
Jesper Christiansen (DK)
Eggert Pétursson (IS)
Steingrímur Eyfjörd (IS)
Finnbogi Pétursson (IS)
Erik A. Frandsen (DK)
Henrik Samuelsson (SE)
Jan Hĺfström (SE)
Marjatta Tapiola (FI)
Maria Lindberg (SE)
Kira Wager (NO)
Petra Lindholm (FI)
Magnus Wallin (SE)
Josefine Lyche (NO)
Rafael Wardi (FI)
Sirous Namazi (SE)
Kathrine Ćrtebjerg (DK)
Ole Jřrgen Ness (NO)

The jury appoints three award winners and one recipient of a scholarship among the participating artists. The winner of the first prize, Karin Mamma Andersson, Sweden, received SEK 1,000,000. The second prize of SEK 600,000 went to Eggert Pétursson, Iceland, and the third prize of SEK 400,000 to Petra Lindholm, Finland, Norway. Sirous Namazi, Sweden, was awarded the scholarship to a young artist of SEK 100,000.

The winners were also given the Carnegie Art Award sculpture in diabase made by the artist Jene Highstein, New York. The prizes were presented to the winners at the inauguration of the exhibition at Henie Onstad Kunstsenter in Hřvikodden on 28 September 2005. H.M. Queen Sonja of Norway presided over the award ceremony.

The jury members of the Carnegie Art Award 2006 are:

  • Ina Blom, Associate Professor, IFIKK – Department of Art History, University of Oslo
  • Maaretta Jaukkuri, Chief Curator, Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma, Helsinki
  • Lars Nittve, Director, Moderna Museet, Stockholm (chairman)
  • Halldór Björn Runólfsson, Senior Lecturer, Iceland Academy of Fine Art, Reykjavik
  • Poul Erik Třjner, Director, Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Humlebćk
  • Suzanne Pagé, Director, Musee d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris (guestmember)

    As from the autumn of 2003, the jury is extended with one international member who will be invited to participate in the jury’s second meeting when the award and scholarship winners are selected. The composition of the jury is crucial, and its members are chosen primarily on the strength of their qualifications. It is also desirable that several Nordic countries are represented. Jury members are normally appointed for three years.

  • Lasipalatsin Mediakeskus Oy ©2001 24.3.2006

    Carnegie Art Award 2006

    Address: Tamminiementie 6, 00250 Helsinki. Tel. +358 9 310 87031, fax +358 09 310 87030
    Open: Tue-Sun 11 a.m. – 6.30 p.m, Mon closed.

    Normal ticket 8 e
    Normal discount ticket 6 e
    Admission is free for children under 18 years of age.
    Free admission on fridays 11-16!